Great Meadows Foundation Grant

Thank you to Great Meadows Foundation for awarding me an Artist Professional Development Grant! I am thrilled for the opportunity to attend the Wayzgoose 2017 at the Hamilton Woodtype and Printing Museum in Two Rivers, Wisconsin and meet letterpress artists and designers from across the globe.


Great Meadows Foundation is pleased to announce the award of 15 grants to artists in the Kentucky region through the fourth round of the Artist Professional Development Grants program. Supporting artists from across the state, the grants will enable recipients to travel to visit major conferences, exhibitions, visual art festivals and biennials, and to connect with professionals in the field whose expertise can help them develop their practice.

Grantee artists in this cycle are: Matthew and Mitchell Bradley, Louisville; Darrenn Canton, Louisville; Janet Creekmore, Covington; Gaela Erwin, Louisville; Linda Erzinger, Louisville; Steve Heine, Louisville; Vallorie Henderson, Louisville; James Russell May, Louisville; Karine and Matthew Maynard, Lawrenceburg; Carrie Neumayer, Louisville; Leslie Nichols, Bowling Green; John Harlan Norris, Lexington; Vian Sora, Louisville; Alyson Thiel, Louisville; Melanie VanHouten, Frankfort.

Grantees were selected with the advice of an external reviewer, a professional in the field from outside the region. The amount of support given in the 15 grants totals $40,100.- with individual awards ranging between $1,100.- and $4,900.-. Grantee artists will be enabled to travel to American cities such as Los Angeles (CA), New York (NY), Phoenix (AZ), Portland (OR), Reading (PA), and Two Rivers (WI), as well as to France, Germany, Spain, and Italy in pursuit of their proposals.

In response to the ambition of Kentucky’s contemporary artists and their desire to more actively engage with people and events in the national and international scene, Great Meadows Foundation’s Artist Professional Development Grant program now accepts applications three times a year. The next cycle deadline is midnight on Sunday November 19, 2017, for travel in the period January 9 through June 30, 2018.

See for more information